Voters OK Columbia County library measure


DAYTON -- Columbia County voters approved the annexation of the city of Dayton into the Columbia County Rural Library District by a strong margin of 627-218.

Annexation will relieve the city of responsibility for funding a portion of library expenses, and paying for maintenance and repairs.

The library district is authorized by state law to levy up to a maximum of 50 cents per $1,000 assessed valuation. With the annexation, city residents will pay taxes directly to the district at the same rate as rural county taxpayers.

Dayton residents will begin paying taxes in 2011. Until then, the city will continue to contract with the district.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment