Seven DeSales players lead way on SEB-11 team

And with three underclassmen among them, DeSales' football future appears bright.


WALLA WALLA — Not only does DeSales have more players represented on the all-Southeast 2B-11 League than any of its rivals, the Irish also placed three of only five underclassmen selected to the all-league team.

Among the Irish’s seven selections are junior running back Kyle Lindgren, junior defensive back Tommy Gregg and junior placekicker Victor Mata. The only other non-seniors on the squad are Liberty Christian linebacker Zach Simpkins, a junior, and Dayton sophomore defensive lineman Kroft Sunderland.

Joining Lindgren and Gregg off the DeSales squad that is also SEB-11’s last team standing in the state playoffs are quarterback Pat Richard, center

Tyler Wahl, offensive lineman Ken Konen and defensive lineman Pat Sharkey.

Asotin placed seven on the all-league team, Waitsburg-Prescott five and Pomeroy four.

Representing the Panthers, who shared the league title with DeSales and W-P, are running back Riley Spooner, receiver Matt Small, tight end Jesse

Davis, offensive lineman Max Castle, defensive back Luke Forsberg and linebacker Bruce Cauthon.

For Waitsburg-Prescott, running back Luken Gerke, offensive lineman Ben Kiefel, defensive back Jace Zuger, linebacker James Lehr and defensive lineman Marco Wikman are the selections.

Representing Pomeroy are running back Ethan McGee, offensive lineman Klyntin Bott, defensive back Justin Bingman and linebacker Matt Slaybaugh.

Tekoa-Oakesdale-Rosalia defensive back Zach Smith and linebacker Zach St. John round out on the squad.

Waitsburg-Prescott’s Jeff Bartlow was named coach of the year.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in