Duncan DeSales' lone all-league volleyball pick

DeSales, Waitsburg-Prescott, Dayton and Pomeroy each place one player on the all-Southeast 2B District first team.


WALLA WALLA — DeSales, Waitsburg-Prescott, Dayton and Pomeroy placed one player each on the all-Southeast 2B District volleyball team.

Senior Caitlin Duncan represents the Irish, senior Kayla Dedloff represents Dayton, junior Genesis Pearson is W-P’s first-team pick and sophomore Kindsey Bott was named from Pomeroy.

Other members of the first team are most valuable player Desiree Chappell and Kaela Dewan, both of Tekoa-Oakesdale; Hanna Berges, Brittney Reed and Hannah Croskrey of Liberty Christian; Megan Howell and Ja Lisa Jose of Asotin; and, from Garfield-Palouse, Annie Leedertsen.

Waitsburg-Prescott senior Amanda Weis and Walla Walla Valley Academy senior Victoria Buell were honorable mention selections along with Pomeroy junior Melissa Bartlow and DeSales sophomore Abbey Larreau,

Zoe Weaver only Touchet player named to Southeast 1B volleyball all-league team

TOUCHET — Zoe Weaver is Touchet’s lone representative on the all-Southeast 1B District volleyball team.

Weaver, a senior, is joined on the first team by Kelly Van Lith and Trisha Luft of St. John-Endicott; Chelsea McKay, Gladys Martinez and Della Fleming of Lacrosse-Washtucna; Mollie Kramer and Kelsey Moser of Colton; and Taylor Graham and Sydney Disselkamp of Tri-Cities Prep. Van Lith was selected the 1B most valuable player.

Sierra Burchell represents Mac-Hi on all-Greater Oregon League volleyball team

MILTON-FREEWATER — Mac-Hi’s Sierra Burchell is the lone player to earn all-Greater Oregon League honors at the conclusion of the volleyball season.

Burchell, a middle hitter, was named to the second team.

First-team honors went to player of the year Whitney Phillips of Baker along with teammates Kylie Kitzmiller, Tori Brown and Becca Joseph as well as Aleia May and Shelby Hassel of La Grande and Kendra Babcock of Ontario.

Seven TigerScots earn all-Blue Mountain Conference honors in football

ATHENA — Of the seven Weston-McEwen athletes to receive all-Blue Mountain Conference honors at the conclusion of the football season, five are underclassmen.

Drew Greenwalt, a junior, was a two-way first-team selection at linebacker and offensive line. And junior Dallas Reich earned first-team accolades at receiver.

Thr Weston-McEwen underclassmen earned honorable mention. They are junior Aaron Speed at receiver, sophomore Riley Sederberg at linebacker and sophomore Elliot Salter at running back.

The two TigerScot seniors to be honored are a pair of second-team picks, Corban Hegdal as a defensive back and Tyler Bushman on the defensive line.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in