W-P's Deal clocks first in Dayton

Seth Deal edges T-C Prep's Samuel Mota-Martinez at the tape at the cross country meet.


DAYTON — Waitsburg-Prescott coach Joanna Lanning got another glimpse into the future of her cross country teams here Thursday — thanks in part to the flu bug that keeps taking its toll on area athletes.

Lanning’s girls team was without three of its varsity runners for a five-school meet Thursday, including senior Maya Garcia, who more often than not wins every race she enters.

But sophomore Kristin Potter picked up the W-P banner and finished first in a field of 18 girls, covering the 3.1-mile Dayton course in 21 minutes, 44 seconds.

On the boys side, W-P freshman Seth Deal clocked 17:52 and was awarded first place in a field of 42, nudging Tri-Cities Prep’s Samuel Mota-Martinez at the tape. Mota-Martinez was also clocked in 17:52.

Waitsburg-Prescott’s boys team was again running without its top runner, junior Nick Carpenter, who has been under the weather for more than two weeks.

Tri-Cities Prep took team honors in both races.

The Jaguar boys totaled 32 points, followed by St. John-Endicott 52, Waitsburg-Prescott 54, Asotin 82 and host Dayton 142. Prep had the only complete girls team and finished with the minimum of 15 points.

Potter nipped St. John-Endicott’s Callie Kolb by five seconds in the girls race. With Isabel Benito and Sara Lapape also missing the race due to illness, Waitsburg-Prescott’s other runners were Maryalice Potolicchio, 15th in 26:35, and Christy Poirier, 17th in 32:14.

Dayton’s lone entry in the girls race was Claire Lyman, who finished 13th in 25:33.

Waitsburg-Prescott’s other runners in the boys race were Michael Montgomery, 5th, 18:14; Josh Smith, 12th, 18:56; Matthew Montgomery, 14th, 19:18; and John Hockersmith, 24th, 20:03.

Dayton was led by Jason Norris, who finished 27th in a time of 20:23. Other Bulldogs were Nick Owens, 34th, 22:20; Marshall Nechodom, 35th, 23:10; Chance Wilkening, 36th, 23:23; and Richard DeNully, 41st, 26:00.

Next Thursday will be Waitsburg-Prescott’s turn to host a meet, with Dayton, Walla Walla Valley Academy and St. John-Endicott in attendance. The first race begins at 4 p.m.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in