Waitsburg-Prescott harriers Deal, Potter take advantage of home course

Kristin Potter and Seth Deal win the girls and boys races at the SEB District cross country meet in Waitsburg.



Waitsburg-Prescott's Seth Deal crosses the line to win the boys race at the event.


Waitsburg-Prescott sophomore cross-country runner Kristin Potter sprints past a Go W-P X-Country sign down the last straight-away to win the girls race in Waitsburg Thursday afternoon.

WAITSBURG — The Waitsburg-Prescott runners obviously knew their way around their home course here Thursday as they claimed top honors in both the boys and girls races in a four-school Southeast B District cross country meet.

Freshman Seth Deal claimed the boys top time as he covered the 5,000-meter course in 18 minutes, 14 seconds. Deal finished 21 seconds in front of St. John-Endicott senior Cody Siegel, who finished alone in second place at 18:21.

Girls honors went to Waitsburg-Prescott’s Kristin Potter, a sophomore, who turned in a winning time of 21:53. St. John-Endicott claimed second again as Callie Kolb, a senior, followed Potter across the finish line in 22:25.

Waitsburg-Prescott’s boys team also finished first with 22 points and St. John-Endicott, the only other complete team, finished second with 35 points. None of the four schools entered a full girls squad.

The host school continued to run without its top runner on the girls side. Senior Maya Garcia missed the race due to an injury.

Coach Joanna Lanning’s boys team did welcome junior Nick Carpenter back to the lineup after he missed several races. Carpenter ran the course in 18:53 and finished fourth in a field of 20 boys.

Michael Montgomery of W-P finished ahead of Carpenter, taking third place in 18:24, just three seconds in back of the Eagles; Siegel. Other Waitsburg-Prescott runners were Josh Smith, sixth, 19:35; John Hockersmith, eighth, 19:43; Matthew Montgomery, ninth, 19:59; and Zac Brown, 20th, 23:53.

Walla Walla Valley Academy and Dayton were the other two participating schools.

Chinonso Opara, WWVAA’s lone entry, finished in 12th place in a time of 20:36.

Jason Norris led the Bulldogs with a 14th-place finish in a time of 20:57. Nick Owens placed 16th in a time of 21:50 and Marshall Nechodom took 17th in 21:57.

Potter led a contingent of four Waitsburg-Prescott girls in the competition. Isabel Benito of W-P took third in 22:57, Maryalice Potolicchio was sixth in 25:44 and Christy Poirier placed ninth in 31:38.

WWVA’s two entries in the field of 10 were Casey Roosma, who finished fifth in 25:52, and Kamia Salango, who was eighth in 29:09.

For Dayton, Claire Lyman was seventh in 26:22 and April Davis 10th in 34:15.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in