In the minutes - Waitsburg School Board


Members of the Waitsburg School Board are Ross Hamann, Elizabeth Cole, Terry Jacoy, Randy Pearson and Greg Zuger. With Pearson absent Wednesday the board:

REPORTS: Learned Waitsburg High School has been named a School of Distinction for exemplary improvement in student achievement for 2009. Twenty-four high schools in the state were recognized. This is the second time Waitsburg has received the designation.

FLU: Heard report on procedures in the event of pandemic flu. Will try to stay open. Teaching kids that three main ways to reduce chances of getting flu is to wash your hands, wash your hands, wash your hands, with soap and water. Students should also be careful when coughing or sneezing to direct the sneeze or cough into their sleeve.

ENROLLMENT: As of Wednesday enrollment was 326 students, which is significantly above amount budgeted for, Superintendent Carol Clarke said.

HANDBOOKS: Approved updated Waitsburg Elementary School student handbook for 2009-2010. Unanimous.

POLICIES: Approved policy series 2000 related to instruction and policy series 1000 related to the board of directors. Unanimous.

GOALS: Approved goals for 2009-10, with special emphasis on mathematics and science.

PERSONNEL: Approved Lindsey Bailey and LaVerne Obenhouse to share responsibilities for concessions for the fall season. Unanimous.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in