Incumbents ousted in Waitsburg

Mayor Markeeta Little Wolf and both incumbent City Council members lost in Tuesday's voting.


WAITSBURG -- Voters made it clear they are ready for change when they elected mayoral challenger Walt Gobel, and selected challengers over the two incumbents running for City Council.

Gobel outpolled incumbent mayor Markeeta Little Wolf, 281-162 votes.

In the council slate, only two new members have previous city government experience. Marty Dunn is a former mayor and council member, and Orville Branson is a previous council member.

New to the council are Kevin House, Karl Newell and Scott Nettles.

Incumbents Leroy Cunningham and William Potolicchio were not reelected.

Voter turnout was 64 percent, with 451 of 709 registered voters casting ballots.

Waitsburg, which operates under a charter issued when Washington was a territory, elects its mayor and council members annually.

Carrie Chicken can be reached at or 522-5289.

Ballot count


  • Walt Gobel, 281 (63 percent)*
  • Markeeta Little Wolf, 162 (37 percent)


  • Kevin House, 335 (74 percent)*
  • Marty Dunn, 297 (66 percent)*
  • Orville Branson, 292 (65 percent)*
  • Karl Newell, 291 (65 percent)*
  • Scott Nettles, 261 (58 percent)*
  • William Potolicchio, 218 (48 percent)
  • Leroy Cunningham, 173 (38 percent)
* indicates winner


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in