Peach Basket Classic crowns 3-on-3 champions

Thirty-six division champions emerge from 266 teams at the 17th annual 3-on-3 basketball tournament Sunday.



Progressive Mechanical's Jordan en'Wezoh (left) shoots over Stepbrothers' Tim McEwen during the final day of the Peach Basket Classic Sunday. The Stepbrothers won the game.

WALLA WALLA - The 17th annual YMCA Peach Basket Classic 3-on-3 basketball tournament wrapped up Sunday in downtown Walla Walla with 36 division champions crowned among a field of 266 teams.

"It felt really good," first-year tournament director Pat McConn said afterward. "We had a big tournament and were prepared for a big tournament. It went very well."

The field was highlighted by 18 seventh-grade girls teams and several other divisions that were well represented, McConn said.

"The more teams we have, the more competitive those brackets become," McConn said. "Hopefully people had a good time and will come back next year."

One of the day's better contests occurred in the championship game of the Men's Open division, where Hand Down, Man Down defeated four-time defending champion Dynasty Hoops.

A top contributor for the winners was former Mac-Hi and Walla Walla Community College product Curtis Carlson, who ironically played for Dynasty Hoops in the 2009 Classic.

Carlson and his mates - Kris Groce, Jordan Gregg, and Dean Colbray - were coming off a second-place finish at a 3-on-3 event in Hermiston two weeks ago.

"We got our shots to fall," said Carlson, who just finished his studies at Point Loma Nazarene with a degree in sociology. "That helps a lot. We figured out how to play with each other."

The team is expected to compete in Kennewick this weekend and may also travel to Yakima and Vancouver, Wash., Carlson said.

YMCA director Randy Grant, whose involvement at the Y spans some three decades, expressed much satisfaction at the end of the day.

"These events remind people that we have a high quality of life," Grant said. "It's a good reminder to me that volunteerism is a big part of the Y. The volunteers asserted themselves to protect an event important to them and the community. That's pretty cool.

"I was impressed by the set-up and the tear down, and appreciate the retailers reaching out," Grant said.

The length of the weekend and time leading up to it was perhaps best capsulized by a brief exchange between Grant and McConn.

"Pat hasn't slept in about two months," Grant said.

McConn replied, "I'll sleep well tonight."

2010 Peach Basket Classic

Division Champions

Co-Ed High School - Ballerz (Courtney Walchli, Kurt Simmons, Eloy De La Cruz, Savannah Bonny).

Sixth Grade Girls - SMAC Ballers (Samantha Herrera, Marissa Salas, Alexis Garcia, Cecilia Guillen).

Family Recreation - Familia (Omar Escalera, Fred Escalera, Socrates Escalera, Gibran Escalera).

Second and Third Grade Girls - Sagebrush Hoops (Delaney Pink, Tia Allen, Talia van Oelhoffen, Teila Allen).

Sixth Grade Boys - Tigers (Ryan Bailey, Thyler Monkus, Dylan Grogan, Enoel Angel).

Male Six-feet and under recreation (up to 21) - Mike's Crew (Mike Webb, Brad Irwin, Scott Bow, J.J. Ross).

Ninth Grade Girls - BBallers (Sira Toure, Serima Thompson, Colette Gall, Jennifer Gonzales).

Male Six-feet and over (ages 22-30) - Mexi-Cans (Gustavo Valladares, Jaime Olivera, Pablo Valladeres).

10th Grade Boys - P-Town Dawgz (Eric Amow, Miguel Torres, Julian Figueroa, Drew Gamboa).

Seventh Grade Girls (24B) - Spokanna Nicole (Audrey Burgess, Riley Lupfer, Brooklyn Howlett).

11th Grade Boys - Tigers (D'Marcus Bowie, Eddy Ramos, Dino Ibarra, Devin Bailey).

Family Competitive - Team Wade (Joe Wade, Tim Wade, Chris Wade, John Wade).

Fourth Grade Girls - Sunnyview Chicks (Michelle Ruiz, Chaz Garza, Abby Zavala, Carla Cardenas).

Male Six-feet and over (age 30+) - All the Way Live (Manuel Reyna, Julio Tapia, Mike Adams, Efren Hernandez)

Female Open - Jerson (Katie Hancock, Semhar Kelati, Jenn Keyes, Marnie Johnson).

Fifth Grade Girls - Super Swish (Ashlee Maldonado, Lexi Skyles, Emily Banks, Dallas Borrego).

12th Grade Boys - Afternoon Delight No. 1 (Josh Eggers, Matthew Moore, Jake Campeau, Seth Alden).

Seventh Grade Girls (24A) - Road Runners (Adrianna Salmeron, Jessica Mendoza, Emilee Maldonado, Destiny Salinas).

Male Six-feet and under (ages 22-30) - Dem Boyz (Herman Keys, Justin Lomeli, Wade Armour, Horacio Enriquez).

Seventh Grade Boys - A-Team (Cameron Cortinas, Zane Adkins, Noah Porter, J.C. Wicklund).

First and Second Grade Boys - NBA Hoopsters (Mason Packer, Bryson Metz, Trey Richardson, Jalen Martin).

Corporate - Wal Mart Volunteers (Steve Deck, Ben Bentley, Josh Henderson, Tristan Edwards).

10th-12th Grade Girls - No Name, Just Game (Brittany Gregerson, Gabrielle Heehn, Danielle Loving, Bianca Gonzales).

Male Six-feet and under recreation (age 30+) - Short and Stubby (Tim Reger, Mike Carlin, Dennis Darnold, Gabe McCune).

Fifth Grade Boys - Lil' Grizz (Art Palacios, Trey Sanchez, Diego Garza, Skylar Gray).

Fourth Grade Boys - Pasco Starz (Diego Gutierrez, Isaiah Cantu, Emilio Davila, Gilbert Hernandez).

Seventh and Eighth Grade Boys - Waitsburg Heat (Elias Martinez, Owen Lanning, Daniel Stansill, Chance Leroue).

Men's Open - Hand Down, Man Down (Kris Groce, Curtis Carlson, Jordan Gregg, Dean Colbray).

Third Grade Boys - Future Ballerz (Treyton Parrish, Isaac Perez, James Dorsett, Weston Ide).

Co-Ed Adult - Return of the Zang (Nicole Duncan, Ray Stout, Caitlin Duncan, Tommy Gregg).

Eighth Grade Girls - Junior Mafia (Kayla Catone, Sierra Perez, Selena Rubalcava, Katie Fowler).

Ninth Grade Boys (Advanced) - Citrus Storm (Forrest Swant, Carson Holman, Gabe Porter, Stuart Gillin).

Male Six-feet and over (up to 21 years of age) - Stepbrothers (David Reyes, Hayden Linklater, Tim McEuen, Jake Aguiar).

Male Six-feet and under (ages 22-30) - Bullets (Robert Montano, Ariel Ramirez, Rocky Shaffer, Diego Munoz).

Eighth Grade Boys competitive - Who's Next (Nikhil Lizotte, Fernando Huerta, Anthony Perez, Jacob Heinen).

Male Six-feet and under competitive (up to 21 years of age) - Team PG (Serg Torres, Aarron Vella, Roger Torres, James Vella).

Saturday contest winners

Slam Dunk

Brandon Search.

3-point shooting

Male High School - Dino Ibarra.

Men's Division - Bryce Daughtry.

Male Middle School - Trey Sanchez.

Women/Female High School - Brittany Gregerson.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in