Business Monthly Bio - Kirsten Schober

Advertisement

photo

Kiersten and the Kirkman House. August 25, 2010

Job/occupation: Kirsten Schober, executive director of the Kirkman House Museum


Hometown: "I was born in Ellensburg, my father farmed there. I spent my formative years in Seattle."


What brought you to Walla Walla: "This is my hometown, too. My mother's family is from here. My mother and her sisters still live here, so it's very much a hometown in a sense."


Favorite memory: "This also is a tie back to Seattle and my love of museums. Every season we would go to the Museum of History and Industry. They changed the decor with the seasons and they had a huge dollhouse. We would also go to the Seattle Art Museum in Volunteer Park. My mom worked in downtown Seattle and we would take a bus downtown. It was perfect, Seattle in the '70s was a dream. My favorite memories are museums, that's probably why I'm here."


Current favorite song/CD: "To transcend the day I listen to Samuel Barber "Adagio for Strings," and then I also listen to Neko Case "Fox Confessor Brings the Flood." My brother says I don't have eclectic tastes in music, I have schizophrenic taste in music. He keeps me humble."


Favorite food: "This time of year, tomatoes, Walla Walla Sweets and basil, local and home-grown, in a sandwich or anything."


Favorite books: "A Lost Lady" by Willa Cather; "Winter Wheat" by Mildred Walker; "Persuasian" by Jane Austen.


Favorite hobby: "My favorite thing is gardening, although you wouldn't know it if you looked at my garden. We pulled up a bunch of sod to make space for a vegetable garden. The vegetables are very scraggly but the weeds are happy. I just go with the flow. That's what gardening is about."


Favorite place in Walla Walla County: "Other than the museum? In the fall I like to go up Mill Creek, take a book, sit on a big stone and read. It's about eight to 10 miles up; it's a peaceful place."


Most recent local purchase: "Probably at the Farmers Market. I just got peaches, green beans -- that thrilled me -- and the last of the cherries."


Dream vacation: "I'd like to take the train between Vienna, Austria and Venice."


Worst job: "I've had a few. I'm not naming names but definitely fast food, bar none. That will certainly give you a determination to get an education."


If you had another career, what would it be: "Something not that much different. I'd be a librarian or have a bookstore and just be in the stacks. As a kid I'd go to the library and I thought I'd just start at 'A' and go through and read everything. I love books."


If you could talk with anyone, from any time or place, who would it be and why: "My grandfather, my mother's father. I am lucky to have three of my grandparents around. He's the one, he's from this line of storytellers. I remember he was like that. He was a lovely man, there's a lovely spirit in that family."

Comments

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment