WRESTLING - Mac-Hi grapplers post big team win

Nine Pioneers and one Wa-Hi wrestler placed first in the seven-team tournament.


MILTON-FREEWATER - Mac-Hi's wrestling team won its own Christmas Tournament Saturday.

The Pioneers posted a big 380-point win, with Wa-Hi placing second with 167.5 points. Baker was third with 145.5, Bandits was fourth with 109, Heppner fifth with 88, Pine Eagle sixth with 64 and Irrigon seventh with 53.5,

"We came out and wrestled tough today," said Mac-Hi coach Beau Chester. "I told the kids it was total domination from the first round. We kind of dominated the whole tournament from start to finish."

Mac-Hi had 16 wrestlers in the finals, which had 14 weight classes.

"They all came out and wrestled really tough," Chester said.

Mac-Hi had nine wrestlers place first in 12 weight classes.

Mike Rogers (119), Travis Hodgen (125), Jesse Sargent (130), Ryan Bullock (135), Jensen Jones (140), Jake Morris (145), Bryden Moller (152), Josh Rutherform (160) and Brandon Kralman (171) all had first-place wins for the Pioneers.

Wa-Hi had one first-place finish with heavyweight Gerald Maib.

"It was a great day for us," said Wa-Hi coach Clayton Hudiburg. "I saw a few kids really grow today and get some success at the varsity level for the first time. Mac-Hi has an outstanding team and I'll be rooting for them in the postseason in Oregon."

Mac-Hi's other placers were Jamie Torres (second, 112), Chandler Fortune (third, 119), Jose Saldana (fourth, 119), Blake Yensen (second, 125), Jordan Leinbach (third, 130), Abraham Garcia (fourth, 130), Tracy Houser (third, 135), Sage Pryharocki (fourth, 135), Patrick Sheets (second, 145), Robert Burton (fourth, 160), Francisco Saldana (second, 171) Taylor Hodgen (4th, 171), Victor Perez (second, 189), Miguel Medina (fourth, 189) and Lawerence Timmons (second, 215).

Wa-Hi's placers were Wil Babbitt (third, 112), Jose Albarran (fourth, 112), Devon Pelham (fourth, 125), Nason Babbitt (2nd, 140), Adrien Coronado (third, 140), Anthony Stalder (third, 145), Ryan Evans (third, 152), Logan Reardon (third, 215), Joel McClure (fourth, 215) and Quinn Piver (third, 285).

The Pioneers wrestle again Dec. 30 in Pendleton. They've won two of three tournaments this year.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in