Etcetera - 02/25/10


Garrison Middle School staffers nominated Lisi Dobson, sixth grade; Emily Pryor, seventh grade; and Dylon Ridenour, eighth grade, for January Students of the Month honors.

Each winner receives a certificate and this month they went to lunch at Subway with Assistant Principal Josh Wolcott. Their photos are also displayed in the Garrison lobby.

One teacher said Lisi is easy to get along with and among the kindest and hardworking students she's ever had. She added she has never heard Lisi say an unkind word about anyone. In every type of team assignment Lisi is willing to give it her all. Each project is met with a positive attitude and 110 percent effort!

Emily always completes her work on time and with high quality. She consistently prepares for class, participates in classroom discussion, and acts as a role model for classmates. She is personable, hardworking and thoughtful.

Dylon was nominated for amazing effort. He has improved in leaps and bounds since beginning his class in the sixth grade. He has straight-As in class and excels in all subjects. His teacher could not be more proud of a student and can't think of another student who deserves the recognition more than Dylon.


The Walla Walla Chapter of Daughters of the Pioneers of Washington will offer its annual $500 scholarship. Details about qualifications are available through school development counselors or call 522-0923. Applications must be postmarked Sept. 1-May 15. Dorothy Hall, 1054 Francis Ave., is scholarship chairwoman.


Forty-two Walla Walla Valley Academy students made the 2009-2010 first semester high honors roll with 3.75 gpas or above.

Seniors: Hillary Brewer, Elizabeth Field, Brittany Fowler, Jeremiah Gibson, Vanessa Gow-Lee, Eder Machado, Brittany Nelson, Chinonso Opara, Andrew Scott, Natalie Slusarenko, Tamara Patrick-Wilkerson, Karli Will.

Juniors: Amber Aqui, Annaliese Hottal , Jessica Hutton, Duncan Norheim, Casey Roosma, Kelsie Schafer, Crandall Varnell.

Sophomores: McKenzie Cosaert, Jesse Hutson, Philip Khng, Brooklynn Larson, Sierra Lepiane, Amber Murphy, Caleb Pope, Kimberly Reich, Alexa Simcock, Graeme Thorn, Sarah Woodhall.

Freshmen: Alex Aamodt, Matthew Hanson, Katherine Hiner, Tamara Kuntz, Brittany Minden, Madison Reeves, Kaitlin Riley, Jocelynn Rupp-Anliker, Kaylee Sewell, Sarah Thompson, Paul Trapani, Alexander Wagner.

Etcetera appears in daily and Sunday editions. Annie Charnley Eveland can be reached at or afternoons at 526-8313.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in