In the minutes - Dayton Council


Members of the City Council are Christine Broughton, Kathy Berg, Merle Jackson, Terry Herrin, Micki Varney, Charlie Button and Bill Graham. Mayor is Craig George. With all present Monday the council:

  • BLUE SKY: Heard report on outcome of Blue Sky Community Challenge the City co-sponsored with Pacific Power. Bill Clemens told the council community participation rose from 1.5 percent to almost 6 percent.
  • PROJECT: Passed a resolution accepting the West Dayton Beautification Project as complete. Unanimous.
  • MAYOR PRO-TEM: Elected Merle Jackson as Mayor Pro-Tempore. Unanimous.
  • HISTORIC COMMISSION: Tabled affirmation of reappointment of Faye Rainwater and Kathy George until Feb. 8 to give council member Micki Varney time to study the appointment procedure.
  • HISTORIC DISTRICT: Residents Jeff Turner and Charles James requested their property be removed from the South Side Historic District. The Historic District uses the same boundaries as the National Historic District. The council took no action on the requests.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in