Etcetera - 01/26/10


Milton-Freewater School District Academic Athlete of the Month awards went to McLoughlin High School students Brittney Hall as student of the month in November and Angel Palacios as student of the month in December. They each received $250 from Sykes Enterprises Inc., which sponors the award.

The school board also accepted a steer valued at $937, which was donated by Lorri Elkington for the FFA program; and coats valued at $1,020 from Walmart through the Coats for Kids program.


Washington State University's fall semester 2009 president's honor roll recognizes students who stand above the rest with excellent academic performance. The following students from our area are:

Burbank: Anna Elizabeth Campbell, Ryan William Cutsforth, Corrinda K. Lathan, Kara R. Rucker, Joshua J. Taylor.

College Place: Lloann L. Ball, Justin Duane Cadwallader, Kira Renee Fazzari, Marcus Daniel Fazzari, Tovah Brianne Fazzari, Kaori Lynn Graybeal, Rachel Elizabeth Hicks, Jeffrey Nicholas Irland, Brenden Lee Koch, Shelly Lyn Palmer.

Dayton: Kendra Marie Demaris, Zachary Andrew Kiefer, Bethanye Leta McDonald, Chelsea Ann Miller, James Wayne Pettett, Alyssa Mackay Warner, Garrett E. Warren, Kelsey Kay Warren, Jamie Kae Wiley, Annie Catherine Wynkoop.

Milton Freewater : Kaila Gail Rodighiero, John Brinker Lee, Rebeckah Burns Turner.

Pomeroy: Sarah Marie Bates, Lory Ann Cochran, Hannah Joann Collins, Gregory Richard Feider, Todd Curtis Keatts, Megan Mariah Nelson, Clover Meadow Schell, Leslie E. Williams.

Touchet: Shiloh Gay Akari, Taryn Janelle Short.

Walla Walla: Peter Leslie Anderson, Kimberly Marie Armentrout, Brittany Amanda Bachtold, Alexis Marie Bailey, Lynsey Brooke Bennington, Samuel Robert Boettcher, Sarah Christine Bridges, Bramwell Jacob Brizendine, Caitlin Elizabeth Carlile, Maria Lovylyn Cavaness, Lee Sung Cyr, Tyler Lewis Doherty, Amanda Kay Flood, Jane V. Froese, Paul S. Froese, Weiyan Huang, Jared Daniel Johnson, Kristyn Michele Knight, Jeffrey A. Ladderud, Ann Adele Lehman, Tefna Rayal Litzenberger, Malorie Marguerite Mahan, Fred McFarland III, Alexandra Laurel Melling, Anabel Muro, Olivia Rose Newhouse, John Scott Notturno, Sandra Rene Opbroek, Sean Gregory Parsons, Sean Joseph Reilly, Michelle Lee Retton, Rea Colleen Rude, Nicole Sawatzki, Andrew Jordan Snider, Svetlana Gennadiyevna Stadnik, Lindsey Jo Stilson, Angella Darlene Summers, James A. Sutliff, Daniel Keith Thompson, Ashlee Kae Wall, Darci Renee White, Devin Roy White, Jenna Kristine Wooldridge, Sarah Anne Zaro, Tiffany Debra Zimmer.

For eligibility, undergraduates must be enrolled in nine graded hours in a single term at WSU and earn a grade point average of 3.75 or earn a 3.50 cumulative GPA, based on 15 cumulative hours of graded work.


Helpline receive a special $8,000 transportation grant from Blue Mountain Community Foundation.

The funds can be used to aid those needing to get to vital services or work via Valley Transit.

In addition, Helpline is in need of winter clothing, blankets, personal hygiene products, toilet paper, plastic grocery bags, peanut butter, and cash donations.

For more information, call the non-profit agency at 529-3377.

Annie Charnley Eveland can be reached at or afternoons at 526-8313.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in