Business Monthly Bio - Sara Archer

Advertisement

Business/job title: Executive Director of the Blue Mountain Humane Society. "It's a wonderfully helpful place to work. I choose to experience it as helpful."



Hometown: "Home is where my family is -- my mom and sister are here." She was born in Prosser, then lived in Hawaii then moved around quite a bit. She came here because of her family.



Current favorite song/CD: "I listen almost exclusively to contemporary inspirational Christian music. Music is really a huge part of what has shaped me." She also likes Jason Mraz, James Taylor and Nora Jones. "I like happy music."



Favorite movie: The movie "Up." "The piece with the dogs talking. That's exactly what dogs would say. 'I was under your porch because I love you ...' They got the dog voices just right. I love to laugh, so I'm drawn to silliness. Monty Python, Chevy Chase, the older stuff. I also like Bruce Willis action movies."



Favorite food: Ethnic food, Indian, Thai. "Growing up in Hawaii, got used to Filipino food. It gives me more options for me as a vegetarian."



Favorite book: "Elegance of the Hedgehog" by Muriel Barbery. "I love beautifully written books, I love words. I have a dear friend who keeps me in books."



Favorite hobby: "I love to read. My husband and I love to cook." She also enjoys spending time with her animals. "I like to see myself reflected in the eyes of my dog, and I'm inspired to be all she thinks I am."SClBFavorite place in Walla Walla County: Mill Creek. "The reservoir. "We hiked around there with the dogs."



Dream vacation: "A stack of books and a beach. That's my idea of a good time."



Worst job: "I was a dishwasher in a nursing home the summer I was 15. I loved the residents but not the dishes. I still don't like doing dishes."

Favorite memory: "In grade school, my mom used to keep me home every other Friday, and we would bake. She taught me. We'd bake bread and rolls. I also enjoyed traveling with her. I love the time I spent one-on-one with her." Archer spent most of a year working at a radio station in Norway from 1989 to 1990. She and her mom traveled around Europe.

SClBDream career: "Philanthropist. As long as we're dreaming. I'd choose to give money away. It would be fun to be on the other side of the nonprofit world."



Person you'd most like to talk to: "Probably my dad. I was five when we lost him. I would like to know what he thinks. I'm told often that I'm like him, by people who knew him. I would appreciate his insight."

Comments

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in