Etcetera - 06/17/10


Darlene Filla caught a morning exhibition of the Walla Walla High School Sponsors at Wa-Hi, because granddaughter Amanda Goebel was a member this year.

"I was amazed at the precision of their drill and feel they, too, deserve recognition for their dedication to excellence," Darlene said.

Wa-Hi Sponsors have attended every drill meet along with JROTC members and some drill with the JROTC, Darlene said. As an extra-curricular activity, Sponsors learn their drills and practice after school hours.

"Their drills are very complicated, with intricate steps well beyond routine marching drills. They address superiors in a military manner and learn mandatory responses of regular ROTC members, Darlene said. They even "do literally dozens of push-ups for any infraction."

"I understand that SPONSORS teams are a dying breed, so Wa-Hi's girls were in competition with regular ROTC units at meets they attended this year. Their two leaders, (graduating seniors) Josette Radar and Terrika Zapata, both ROTC members, taught and trained the unit well, as shown by their placements in competition. "


Green Park Elementary second grader Nataya Lovejoy garnered the third-place prize in the Escribo En Espa?plusmn;ol (I write in Spanish) Contest.

Every year the Center for Spanish Studies hosts this international contest, which is open to academic institutions in the state of Washington. Nataya's mother is Green Park preschool teacher Tensie Lovejoy.

Prizes and awards were given out June 5 in a ceremony at the Capitol Building in Olympia.


Two area high school graduates received Walla Walla Wagon Wheelers 2010 annual college scholarships. The $500 awards are given to students who plan to further their education. Walla Walla High School alum Taylor Hof will work toward a degree in diesel technology at Walla Walla Community College. Megan Tompkins, who graduated from DeSales Catholic High School, plans to earn a pharmacy degree at either Oregon State University or the University of Washington. Wagon Wheelers established the scholarship fund in 2004 and have awarded two scholarships for the last five years, said Carolyn Hansen, WWWW secretary.

Contact Annie Charnley Eveland at or afternoons at 526-8313.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in