Etcetera - 03/15/10


The 10th annual Traffic Safety Super Stars award and recognition luncheon held recently recognized outstanding work being done in traffic safety education and prevention within the Walla Walla Valley.

The event is sponsored by the Walla Walla County Traffic Safety Task Force. The top DUI arresting officers for 2008 and 2009 from each law enforcement agency were recognized for DUI enforcement. Recipients include Officers Monte Vories and Carol Ferraro, College Place Police Department; Deputies Gerrod Martin and Kent Boyd, Walla Walla County Sheriff's Office; Officers Kevin Huxoll and Gunner Fulmer, Walla Walla Police Department; and Trooper Michael Jensen, Washington State Patrol, Walla Walla Detachment.

In the last two years, the aforementioned officers removed 180 people driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs from city streets, county roadways and state highways in Walla Walla County.

The sponsors and volunteers for the Tipsy Taxi Program were recognized with certificates for promoting designated driving in the valley. During 14 days in December, 235 people were given rides home by volunteer drivers.

Speakers for the Walla Walla DUI Victim Impact Panel were honored for commitment to educating area citizens about the importance of planning ahead for safe rides home and preventing the possible tragic consequences of driving under the influence. They include: Mary Ann Gonzalez, Detective Cristal Harris, Nina Conn and Detective Miguel Sanchez.

Safety Super Star plaques went to Bill and Val Dunham, Good Samaritan Award; Pepsi-Cola Bottling, Albertson's and Domino's Pizza, Business Leadership Award; Dale Grogan, Citizen Activist Award; Walla Walla County Public Safety Communications (dispatch), Government Program Leadership Award; Berney Elementary, Educational Outreach Award; Jillian DeBritz and Walla Walla High School ASB Leadership Class, Youth Initiative Award; Deputies Steve Duehn and Travis Goodwin, Law Enforcement Award; Ryan Pleasants and Eric Wood, Public Health Award; and Walla Walla General Hospital, Safety Super Star Award.

WWCTSTF has worked in the valley since 1991 to promote traffic safety within the county.

For more details on its programs, contact Nancy at the Walla Walla County Department of Human Services, 524-2920.

Etcetera appears in daily and Sunday editions. Annie Charnley Eveland can be reached at or afternoons at 526-8313.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in