One Blue Devil on all-division first team

Junior Matt Wilson was selected for the first team after the Wa-Hi baseball season ended Tuesday.


WALLA WALLA - Wa-Hi landed just one first-team spot on the all-Big Nine Conference Cascade Division baseball team that was released Wednesday.

But with seven players honored overall - five of whom will return next season - Blue Devils coach Keith Gradwohl was more than pleased.

"I think it was very, very fair," Gradwohl said Wednesday afternoon, less than 24 hours after his team had been eliminated from the postseason playoffs with a 6-5 loser-out district loss at Wenatchee that left Wa-Hi with a final 10-11 record.

"Especially when you consider that some of these kids who were selected won starting jobs during the season. They came on at the end of the year but didn't have the same number of at-bats as some of others in the league. They put up some good numbers in half the games, so I think it was pretty fair."

Gradwohl served as the Blue Devils head coach this spring for the second time during his long tenure at Wa-Hi. And he plans to be back in 2011.

"This has been an excellent year," Gradwohl said. "These are great kids. We had absolutely no issues.

"I am just extremely disappointed that I'm not going to practice today. I guess I feel like Ernie Banks - ‘Lets Play Two' - because these kids really enjoy playing the game."

Junior Matt Watson is the Blue Devils' lone first-team selection. Coaches voted him to the first team as an outfielder and to the second team as a pitcher.

Blue Devil senior Justin Mathews was a second-team selection at second base and senior Morgan Maddess earned second-team honors as an outfielder. Junior Jake Jimenez was also second team as a third baseman.

Honorable mention went to junior first baseman Jake Campeau, junior shortstop Kevin Toon and junior Conner Holbrook at catcher.

A pair of juniors, Calvin Campbell of Eastmont and Garrett Anderson of Kamiakin, were selected Cascade Division Player of the Year and Pitcher of the Year, respectively. Eastmont's Brandon Schmitten, who guided the Wildcats to a share of the division title with Richland, was voted Coach of the Year.

Seven seniors, five juniors and a pair of sophomores complete the all-division team.

The seniors are shortstop Will Scott and catcher Seth Kline of Eisenhower, outfielders Marcus Manderbach of Hanford and Chris Cecil of Richland, pitcher Mike Dunford of Richland, designated hitter Mike Ruane of Hanford, and utility player Garrett Olson of West Valley.

The five juniors are Riley Shintaffer of Hanford, outfielder Joey Jansen of Kamiakin, and pitchers Ian Sagdal of Eastmont, Dan Scheibe of Hanford and Steven Wagar of West Valley. Wagar was selected solely as a relief pitcher.

Rounding out the squad are sophomore second baseman Corey Morris of Richland and sophomore third baseman Drew Ord of Kamiakin.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in