Trio of Mac-Hi players earn all-Greater Oregon League baseball honors


MILTON-FREEWATER - A trio of Mac-Hi baseball players have earned all-Greater Oregon League first-team honors.

Catcher Riley Croghan, designated hitter Nick Watts and outfielder Lupito Salazar are the Pioneers named to the first unit.

Croghan, who shared first-team honors with Baker's Matt Gorrell, batted .511 during the 2010 season with four home runs and 17 runs batted in. Watts hit at a .490 clip with three homers and 18 RBIs, and Salazar hit .364 and stole 14 bases.

Mac-Hi also had two second-team selections and three others who received honorable mention.

Named to the second team were senior outfielder Jake Knight and sophomore infielder Patrick Sheets. Honorable mention went to senior infielder Austin Good, senior pitcher Randy Romero and sophomore first baseman Kevin Cuellar.

La Grande pitcher Zack Nice and Ontario infielder Josh Mejia were co-recipients of the GOL Player of the Year award. Baker's Dan Blankenship was voted Coach of the Year by his peers.

Rounding out the GOL first team are first baseman Dekker Smith, Baker; infielders Ty Everson, Baker, and Carson Miller, La Grande; outfielders Steven Talbot, Baker, Evan Humphrey, La Grande, and Chase Fields, Ontario; pitcher Riley Horn, Ontario; and utility player Trace Richardson, Baker.

Mac-Hi finished with a 9-12 record overall and 1-11 in the Greater Oregon League.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in