Incumbents returned to office in Waitsburg election


WAITSBURG -- The incumbent City Council and mayor prevailed in the city election Monday.

Mayor Walt Gobel easily outpolled challenger and former Council member Bart Baxter, with 276 votes to Baxter's 64.

Council members re-elected are Kevin House, 293 votes; Martin Dunn, 272 votes; Karl Newell, 279 votes; Orville Branson, 283 votes and Scott Nettles, 250 votes. The sixth candidate, Greg McVey, received 119 votes.

A total of 357 votes were cast. With 741 eligible voters, voter turnout was 48 percent.

There were 13 write-in votes for nine people for mayor including one for "Nobody."

There were 64 write-in votes for Council, including two for Izzy the Camel.

Top write-in votes went to former Council members Leroy Cunningham with six votes and Jeff Broom with five votes and former mayor Markeeta Little Wolf with four votes. Dane Kiefel received four votes.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in