In the minutes - COLUMBIA COUNTY


Columbia County commissioners are Chuck Reeves, Dwight Robanske and Dick Jones. With all present Wednesday:

  • DETENTION: Discussed juvenile detention contract but postponed action until the prosecutor reviewed wording in the contract .
  • SECURITY: Approved FY11 State Homeland Security grant contract. Unanimous.
  • DISPATCH: Referred question about holiday pay for dispatch to the policy committee.
  • PUBLIC HEALTH: Approved contracts with Walla Walla County for environmental health, Sherri Huwe for early childhood, the State Department of Health, and a Coordinated Prevention Grant. Unanimous for all.
  • FINANCE: Reviewed third quarter finances with budget committee members Sharon Richter and Audrey McLean.
  • HEARING: Following a public hearing where there was no public comment give, approved amendments to the 2011 budget. Unanimous.
  • PUBLIC WORKS: Passed resolution approving the 2012 capital improvement program. Also approved agreement with Puget Sound Energy for snow removal. Unanimous for both.
  • PERMIT: Approved right of way permit on Eckler Mountain Road for Eric Thorne to access his field with a large sprayer. Unanimous.
  • FAIR BOARD: Appointed David Molesh, Michelle Schoun, Charles Barron, and Jeremy Cox to the fair board. Unanimous.
  • ORGANIZATION: Elected Chuck Reeves as chairman for 2012. Unanimous. Took no action on moving board date, so regular meetings will continue to be on the first and third Wednesday.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in