Etcetera - 01/21/11


Staffers and families at Green Park Elementary School helped augment their ASB fund by participating in McDonald's McTeacher night. While working at the fast food restaurant, they earned $731.34 for student body awards and activities, according to the Jan. 14 Walla Walla Public Schools Week in Review online.

A representative from McDonald's presented the check to Green Park "Thanks to McDonald's for sponsoring the event in support of Walla Walla Public Schools," a source said in the report.

Members of the Walla Walla High School National Honor Society met the $1,000 fundraising commitment they made in spring 2010 to the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.

Proceeds from The Afterglow, their dance on Jan. 7, went to support the foundation.

NHS member Hope Klicker organized the dance, the Walla Walla Public Schools Week in Review reported online on Jan. 14.

NHS also organized a youth track meet in October that raised funds for cystic fibrosis research.

A number of students from this area who are attending Washington State University made its 2010 fall semester president's honor roll.

The list recognizes students who stand above the rest with excellent academic performance, a release said.

For eligibility, undergraduate students must be enrolled in a minimum nine graded hours in a single term at WSU and earn a grade point average of 3.75 or earn a 3.50 cumulative GPA, based on 15 cumulative hours of graded work.

The list includes the following area residents:

Burbank: Ryan William Cutsforth, Markus Scott Melton, Chelsea Jo Rada, Jabali Wowoco Ray, Kara R. Rucker, Joshua J. Taylor, and Daniel J. Vickoren.

College Place: Marcus Daniel Fazzari, Tovah Brianne Fazzari, Kaori Lynn Graybeal, Diana Marie Griffin, Rachel Elizabeth Hicks, Shelly Lyn Palmer, Ruben Armando Rodriguez, Erika Libby Rootvik, Paul V. Slusar, Toni Van Dyk, and Scott Allan Wagner.

Dayton: Kelsey Elizabeth Bailey, Kendra Marie Demaris, Zachary Andrew Kiefer, Lacy May Nichols, James Wayne Pettett, Stacia Alexis Talbott, Garrett E Warren, Kelsey Kay Warren, and Annie Catherine Wynkoop.

Milton-Freewater: Maria C. Lara.

Pomeroy: Lory Ann Cochran, Hannah Joann Collins, Gregory Richard Feider, Jake R. Fischer, Dorothy Jean Gates, Todd Curtis Keatts, Kaci M. Uto, Scott Lewis Williams, and Leslie E. Williams.

Touchet: Shiloh Gay Akari, and Taryn Janelle Short.

Waitsburg: Mindy Ann Puller, and Colton James Townsend.

Walla Walla: Darci Renee Anderson, Peter Leslie Anderson, Nichole Marie Appleford, Pierre Arellano, Alexis Marie Bailey, Joseph A. Ballinger, Karen Benge, Lynsey Brooke Bennington, Samuel Robert Boettcher, Sarah Christine Bridges, Bramwell Jacob Brizendine, Aaron Luke Burns, Marc Alan Case, Justin Alan Coronado, Ashley June Kathleen Cox, Lee Sung Cyr, Ann Marie Erickson, Ashlee Kae Eskelsen, Paul S. Froese, Jane V. Froese, Rosa Maria Granados, Bruce Richard Hallowell, Matthew David Johnson, Brett Louis Kittle, Kristyn Michele Knight, Jordan Dane Kofler, Jeffrey A. Ladderud, Michael Joseph Locati, Malorie Marguerite Mahan, Alexandra Laurel Melling, Sheri Marie Miller, Olivia Rose Newhouse, Elizabeth A. Notturno, John Scott Notturno, Sandra Rene Opbroek, Katharine Marge Rogers, Rea Colleen Rude, Kaylynn Pauline Smith, Courtney Jean Sullivan, James A Sutliff, Teresa H. Wong, and Sarah Anne Zaro.

Weston: Patricia Faye Dotson.

Etcetera appears in daily and Sunday editions. Annie Charnley Eveland can be reached at or afternoons at 526-8313.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in