Etcetera - 03/03/11


A number of area students earned bachelor's degrees from Washington State University during the fall 2010 semester. Honors earned by students are listed as follows: summa cum laude for a cumulative grade point average of 3.90 or better, magna cum laude for a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.70 but less than 3.90 and cum laude for a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.50 but less than 3.70.

Degrees went to the following:

Burbank: Ryan W. Cutsforth, business administration, cum laude; Corrinda Kay Lathan, education and residency teaching certificate; and Angelina Ruth Sloan, speech and hearing sciences.

College Place: Tovah Brianne Fazzari, nursing, magna cum laude; Kyle Francis Garrison, nursing; Thaddeus Raymond Hicks, mechanical engineering; Jeffrey Nicholas Irland, education, cum laude and residency teaching certificate; Ruben Armando Rodriguez, nursing, magna cum laude; and Lindsey Jo Sheckler, human development and undergraduate certificate in child development and care.

Dayton: Stacia Alexis Talbott, human development.

Milton-Freewater: Marie C. Lara, nursing, summa cum laude; and Rebeckah Burns Turner, education, summa cum laude and residency teaching certificate.

Touchet: Katrina Ann Plucker, communication.

Walla Walla: Brian Daniel Asplund, business administration; Karen Michell Benge, environmental science; Mary Kathryn Halfacre, social sciences; Joseph Ray Harold, mechanical engineering; Jordan Dane Kofler, political science, cum laude; Sheri M. Miller, business administration, summa cum laude; Anabel Muro, education, cum laude and residency teaching certificate; Rea Colleen Rude, social sciences, magna cum laude; and Lindsey Marie Kelley Williams, natural resource sciences.

If you know someone who has given exceptional service or made contributions to the children of Walla Walla Public Schools, who exhibits unusual dedication and demonstrates care, compassion and empathy, that person could be considered for the annual Art Regier Outstanding Volunteer of the Year Award.

Nominations are being accepted through March 25. Nomination forms are available at all Walla Walla Public Schools and the district office. Recipients of the Art Regier Outstanding Volunteer Award will be honored with a plaque to display at their home or place of business, and their name will be permanently affixed to a memorial plaque in the school district's board room, 364 S. Park St. The ceremony will be April 19 during the school board meeting, according to the Feb. 25 Walla Walla Public Schools Week in Review. For more information, call Mark Higgins, communications director, 509-526-6716.

Contact Annie Charnley Eveland at or afternoons at 526-8313.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in