Irish split with Asotin to snag SE2B basball title

DeSales also has the No. 1 seed heading into districts.


WALLA WALLA - DeSales clinched the Southeast 2B baseball title with a second-game win over Asotin here Saturday, giving them the No. 1 seed heading into district play next weekend.

But they lost the first game, 4-3, en route to the nightcap's 13-10 win.

DeSales' Victor Mata and Asotin's Jackson Webb kept the first game's score low. Mata allowed four runs, including a home run, in the first two innings, but shut the Panthers down through the end.

Meanwhile, DeSales picked up its three runs in the sixth with three singles and a walk, but it wasn't enough as they went scoreless in the seventh.

"It was two pretty good guys going head-to-head," said DeSales coach Kim Cox.

With the first game down, DeSales opened the second game with purposeful at-bats. The Irish scored seven runs in the first inning off six singles - and had 11 hits in the win.

Logan Hoeft pitched the first four innings, but tweaked his shoulder and the Irish elected to sit him.

Hoeft allowed four runs.

Kyle Lindgren replaced him, giving up six.

"He missed a couple spots," Cox said. "Asotin is a good hitting team and he didn't locate well. They made him pay and came roaring back, but we hung on and had three up, three down in the seventh to pull off the split."

The Irish play a single game at La Grande Tuesday. They're 16-3 on the year and ended their Southeast 2B season at 10-2.

They play Tekoa-Oakesdale-Rosalia in the district tournament next Saturday at Colfax. A win gives them an automatic berth to regionals, while a loss drops them into a loser-out game.

First Game

Aso 220 000 0 - 4 4 1

DeS 000 003 0 - 3 6 2

Webb, Scheibe (6) and DeBord; Mata and Duehn.

HR - Aso: Morton.

Hits - Aso: Parsons, Webb, Trimmel, Hurst. DeS: Haen, Mata 2, Hoeft, Lindgren 2.

Second Game

Aso 031 042 0 - 10 12 2

DeS 700 400 x - 13 11 0

Lyons, Trinnell (5) and Parsons; Hoeft, Lindgren (5) and Duehn.

HR - Aso 3: Webb, DeBord, Morton.

Hits - Aso: Parsons 2, Webb 2, Lyons, DeBord, Schiebe 3, Morton 2. DeS: Haen 2, Dean, Gregg 2, Mata, Coadhoill, Hoft, Lindgren 2, Eskil.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in