JROTC promotions, awards announced


WALLA WALLA -- Walla Walla High School cadets in the JROTC program held their annual Military Ball Saturday night. Following the banquet hosted by the graduating seniors and Lt. Col. Bill Bialozor, senior Army instructor, next year's leaders were announced and winners of awards this year were recognized by numerous organizations.

The final opportunity for the general public to see all the cadets from all grades in this year's JROTC program will be May 25 at 9 a.m. on the parade field off Reser Road. The cadets will hold their Annual Review and a graduation parade. This event is open to the public and there is no admission charge. For more information, call 509-527-3035 or email to wwhs_rotc@wwps.org and a program representative will respond.

The class of 2012 "Blue Devil Cadet Battalion" leaders and their new cadet ranks and Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps titles are:

Battalion Commander -- cadet Lt. Col. Richard Jimenez

Executive Officer -- cadet Maj. Shane Perkins

Command Sergeant Major -- cadet Command Sgt. Maj. Maliki Matthews

Staff principals are cadet captains: Robyn Herald (S1, Administration), Rishi Patel (S2, Intelligence), Aric Stahl (S3, Operations and Planning), Connor Davis (S4, Logistics), Karri Mickelson (S5, Public Affairs) and Bosco Brittain (S6, Information Technology).

Company commanders are cadet first lieutenants: Nick Nelson, Desiree Phillips, and John Gossett

Company first sergeants are cadet first sergeants: Brandon Webster, Tony Fanciullo, and Sam Gentzler

Numerous cadets received honors for their achievement, leadership and cadet program excellence. The winners and their awards were:

JROTC Distinguished Service Award: Jordan Bennett, Michael Hobbs, Tony Fanciullo, Sara Beko

Senior Army Instructor Leadership Award: (Freshman) LET 1 -- Nick Nelson, (Sophomore) LET 2 -- Brandon Webster, (Junior) LET 3 -- Rishi Patel, (Senior) LET 4 -- Seth Thomas

Distinguished Cadet -- Sam Gentzler.

Celebrate Freedom Foundation/ Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Ribbon -- Joshua Lancaster

Washington Army National Guard Award -- Casey Victorino

U.S. Army Recruiting Command Award -- Aric Stahl and Kristen Grass

Reserve Officers Association -- Alexander Brittain

Non-Commissioned Officers Association -- Vince Blakely

Daughters of the American Revolution -- Kaylee Bialozor

Veterans of Foreign Wars -- Triton Perrin

American Veterans -- Robyn Paul

American Legion: Award for scholastic excellence -- Katie Chavre; Award for Military Excellence -- Micah Schenk; Award for Marksmanship -- Sarah Jameson

Scottish Rite Award for Americanism and Patriotism - Richard Jimenez, who was also promoted to cadet Lt. Col. and selected as Battalion Commander for the Wa-Hi Class of 2012. This marks the second year in a row the award was won by the cadet who also went on to command. The outgoing commander, cadet Lt. Col. Robyn Paul, won the award last year.

Superior Cadet: (Freshman) LET 1 -- Michael Matthews, (Sophomore) LET 2 -- John Gossett, (Junior) LET 3 -- Karri Mickelson, (Senior) LET 4 -- Skyler Carpenter


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in