New members elected to M-F School Board

Michael Lesko and Kelly Kessler will take over two positions on the board.


Two new members will begin serving on the Milton-Freewater School Board on July 1.

Unofficial results provided by the Umatilla County Elections office Tuesday night show Michael Lesko and Kelly Kessler as the winners. Lesko ran unopposed for the position 1 seat currently held by George Gillette, while Kessler held a healthy majority over challenger Tara Lewis for the position 5 seat, held by Sharee LaRue-Wright until her resignation this month.

Kessler secured 57.7 percent of votes, while Lewis drew 41.6 percent.

LaRue-Wright, who submitted her resignation May 10 effective immediately, was not seeking reelection.

Current board member Ken Sloan, who holds the position 7 seat, beat candidate Yvonne Olesen with 56.9 percent of the votes.

In the Athena-Weston School Board race, member Joshua Henningsen will hold his zone 4 seat another four years after running unopposed. It was unclear from election results who, if anyone, would hold the zone 7 vacancy left after board member Duane Beers' death in late 2010. No one had filed to run for the seat, but about 30 write-in votes were cast for unknown candidates.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in