Pomeroy's Knebel named to all-SE 1B football both ways


WALLA WALLA - Pomeroy senior Tory Knebel has been named to the all-Southeast 1B-8 League football team on both sides of the ball.

Knebel was selected as a running back on offense and as a lineman on defense.

Knebel was joined on the offensive unit by teammate Jesse Koller, a senior lineman, and on defense by the Pirates' Austin Reisdorph, a junior linebacker.

Touchet, meanwhile, which shared the league championship with Pomeroy and Colton, placed two players on the offensive first team and three on defense.

Representing the Indians on offense are senior lineman Matt Shute and junior running back Vicente Flores. Touchet's defensive first-team selections are senior defensive back Eric Hines, senior linebacker Ty Garbe and senior lineman Dan Can.

Colton placed three players on the offensive first team and one on defense.

Senior quarterback Josh Straughan, senior lineman Jake Riedner and sophomore receiver Jake Straughan were named to the offense and junior defensive back Nick Robertson was the Wildcats' defensive first-team selection.

Rounding out the offense are junior running back Riley Hodges of Garfield-Palouse and junior receiver Tyler Morris of Liberty Christian. Junior linebacker Sawyer Hostetler of Lacrosse-Washtucna and senior lineman Nathan Cocking of Garfield-Palouse are other defensive first-team picks.

Pomeroy's Sanford Bates was voted coach of the year.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in