Etcetera - 02/17/12


Five Walla Walla County 4-H delegates will head to the Washington State Know Your Government conference Saturday through Tuesday in Olympia, said Sarah Bergman in a release.

High school students will participate in various activities exploring political parties and the nomination process, as well as develop life skills such as conflict resolution and critical thinking. In preparation for the event, Paige Palmer, Maggie Buob, Kayla Leinweber, Jacob Leinweber and Emily Leinweber have written resolutions, developed a party platform and chosen a candidate to run for office at the conference. They have learned about political parties, elections and strategies for successful campaigning.

The Walla Walla County delegates held a bake sale fundraiser on Feb. 11 in front of Book & Game Co. downtown. Proceeds will help cover their travel expenses.

Local members involved in nonprofit philanthropic sorority Epsilon Sigma Alpha International will be in Yakima for two days to participate in a radiothon fundraiser.

Area residents can become "partners in hope" by pledging to help kids beat cancer by supporting St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, based in Memphis, Tenn.

Trudy Roeder, her mother-in-law Lucy Roeder, Carolyn Rand and Shawna Davis, members of ESA's Alpha Beta Chapter, will help with the phones at 92.9 The Bull in Yakima Feb. 23-24. This is a change of venue for the group, which in previous years has broadcast from Tri-Cities stations Walla Wallans can tune into, Trudy said.

This time, since the signal from Yakima doesn't reach the Walla Walla Valley, the program can be accessed locally by streaming on computer at

Pledges of $20 a month using a credit card will garner donors a free 2012 92.9 The Bull/St. Jude radiothon T-shirt. To make donations and pledge, call 800-345-4673.

Several area students made the Washington State University 2011 fall semester president's honor roll, according to a release from the Pullman institution. They include:

Burbank: Chelsea Rada, Nicole Roberts.

College Place: Ana Ayala-Sanchez, Dennis Darnold, Allison Erwin, Marcus Fazzari, Jonathan Gilvey, Diana Griffin, Cameron Hohimer, Matthew Johnson, Ruvim Kuznetsov, Sheldon Moore.

Dayton: Michelle Barker, Sarah Gibbons, Molly Payne, Robert Warner, Garrett Warren, Kelsey Warren.

Dixie: Mary Felt.

Pomeroy: Lory Cochran, Hannah Collins, Gregory Feider, Jake Fischer, Tye Knebel, Leslie Williams.

Touchet: Shiloh Akari, Taylor Gregg, Amber Pack, Taryn Short.

Waitsburg: Austin Beasley, Nicholas Carpenter, Colton Townsend.

Walla Walla: Danielle Alaniz, Peter Anderson, Alexis Bailey, Sarah Bridges, Aaron Burns, Dan Debroeck, Trevor Douglas, Paul Froese, Lindsay Fry, Angelina Garcia, Katie Glore, Kenny Hawkins, Elizabeth Huckabay, Jesse Kelly, Brett Kittle, George Kovach, Mary Krutsinger, Jeffrey Ladderud, Kevin Leier, Kristine Leier, Michael Locati, Malorie Mahan, Athena Mason, Nathan McClure, David Merfeld, Megan Moberg, Mackenzie Neavor, Olivia Newhouse, Elizabeth Notturno, Anthony Olivos, Sandra Opbroek, Shelly Palmer, Morgan Rand, Chloe Robinson, Katharine Rogers, Carol Rosa-Guzman, Aiden Rushing, Roy Sherman, Kaylynn Smith, Courtney Sullivan, Joshua Terry.

The roll recognizes students who stand above the rest with excellent academic performance. To be eligible, undergraduate students must be enrolled in a minimum of nine graded hours in a single term at WSU and earn a grade point average of 3.75 or earn a 3.50 cumulative GPA based on 15 cumulative hours of graded work.

Etcetera appears in daily and Sunday editions. Annie Charnley Eveland can be reached at or afternoons at 526-8313.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in