Jim Barrow chosen mayor

Two new Council members were sworn in Wednesday as well.


WALLA WALLA -- A new mayor was voted in, and four members were sworn in at Wednesday's City Council meeting.

Chris Plucker and Mary Lou Jenkins took their official oaths Wednesday night, along with returning members Barbara Clark and Jerry Cummins.

Plucker defeated Fred Mitchell last November for position 6 and Jenkins defeated Dominick Elia for position 7.

After being sworn in, members elected a mayor.

Shane Laib and Jim Barrow were both nominated, with Barrow winning 4-3.

Conrado Cavazos was elected mayor pro-tem, 4-3, over Jerry Cummins.

The mayor is chosen by Council members every two years.

Alfred Diaz can be reached at alfreddiaz@wwub.com or 526-8325.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in