Etcetera - 06/14/12


The process of catching up after a three-week vacation continues. From my news folder comes this item reported in the Walla Walla Public School Week in Review in mid-May.

The Walla Walla High School Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps' 92nd annual Military Ball is not only a place to dance, but an opportunity to recognized cadets' accomplishments during the academic year.

Blue Devil Battalion cadets, parents and guests enjoyed the ball and awards banquet May 12 at Walla Walla Elks Lodge.

Cadets were decorated with awards they earned for individual achievements. The program's chain of command for fall was also announced, said Lt. Col. Bill Bialozor, Senior Army Instructor.

Honors went to the following:

Senior Army Instructor Leadership awards: Jerome Samson, Leadership Education Training, first year; Zachary Chlipala, LET 2; Uriel Bermoy, LET 3; Malachi Matthews, LET 4.

JROTC Distinguished Service awards: Mattie Bialozor, LET 1; Caitlyn Lasseigne, LET 2; Casey Victorino, LET 3; Bosco Brittain, LET 4.

Distinguished Cadet: Rishi Patel.

Celebrate Freedom Foundation/Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Ribbon: Dylan Ridenour.

Washington Army National Guard Award: Wayne Powers.

U.S. Army Recruiting Command awards: Nicki Thomas and Connor Davis.

Reserve Officers Association JROTC Achievement Award: Shane Perkins.

Non-Commissioned Officers Association Award: Brandon Webster.

National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution National Defense Committee ROTC Medal: Bailey Knapp.

American Veterans ROTC Recognition Award: Desiree Phillips.

Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States JROTC Citation and Award: Josh Naber.

American Legion Award for Scholastic Excellence: Richard Jimenez.

American Legion Award for Military Excellence: Kurtis Crump.

American Legion Award for Marksmanship: Allie Juergensen.

Scottish Rite of Free Masonry Award: John Gossett.

Military Order of the World Wars JROTC Award of Merit: Dustin Dabulskis.

Superior Cadet: Allison Shrouf, LET 1; Jordan Heiser, LET 2; John Gossett, LET 3; Karri Mickelson, LET 4.

The chain of command for next year: Company commanders, all of whom will be promoted to Cadet 1st Lt., Sara Beko, Zachary Chlipala and Bailey Knapp.

Company first sergeants, all to be promoted to Cadet 1st Sgt., Allison Shrouf, Connor Buckley and Dylon Ridenour.

Battalion Staff officers, who will be promoted to Cadet Capt., Wayne Powers S1 adjutant; Casey Victorino, S2 security; Sam Gentzler, S3 training and operations; Brandon Jenkins, S4 supply and logistics; Uriel Bermoy, S5 public affairs; Emily Bendix, S6 technology.

Selected as cadet battalion commander is John Gossett. He will be promoted to cadet lieutenant colonel. Desiree Phillips will be promoted to cadet major and serve as executive officer. Brandon Webster will be promoted to and serve as cadet command sergeant major.

Walla Wallan Eric Wiessner earned his bachelor's in chemistry from the University of Portland.

University president, the Rev. E. William Beauchamp, C.S.C., conferred a record 803 bachelor's and 207 master's degrees during commencement exercises May 5 and 6 in the Earle A. and Virginia H. Chiles Center on the UP campus.

Etcetera appears in daily and Sunday editions. Annie Charnley Eveland can be reached at or 526-8313.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in
4 free views left!