Few contested races in Columbia, Garfield counties


Filing week closed Friday with few contested local races developing in Columbia and Garfield counties.

No candidates filed to oppose the incumbents for state Legislative District 9 offices, which consists of Garfield, Asotin, Adams and portions of Spokane, Franklin and Whitman counties.

The unopposed candidates are state Sen. Mark Schoesler, Position 1 state Rep. Susan Fagen and Position 2 state Rep. Joe Schmick.

In Columbia County, the county commission District 1 race had a single candidate filing, incumbent Dwight Robanske.

In the commission District 2 race, Tom Bensel and Mike Talbot will run against each other.

Robanske, Bensel and Talbot have listed their party preference as Republican Party.

In Garfield County, the single filer for the Assessor's Office was Laura Smith, and in the county commissioner District 1 race, the only candidate was Robert K. Johnson.

Both candidates listed their party preference as Republican Party.

The only contested race as of Friday was the county commission District 2 seat, where Wynne McCabe and David Ledgerwood are the candidates.

Both stated they have no party preference.

The single Superior Court race, representing Columbia, Garfield and Asotin counties, had a single candidate filing. That was incumbent Superior Court Judge William D. (Bill) Acey.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in