Talbott wins Columbia County Commissioner race


Mike Talbott has defeated Tom Bensel in the race for Columbia County commissioner, Position 2. In the preliminary count Tuesday, Talbott received 1,029 votes, for 53 percent, with Bensel receiving 912 votes, for 47 percent.

In January, Talbott will replace outgoing commissioner Richard Jones, who did not seek reelection.

Talbott is a Dayton resident and lifelong Columbia County farmer. He is a Dayton high school graduate and later served for many years on the Dayton School Board. He has been a Columbia County Grain Growers board member for seven years.

For Position 1, Columbia County Commissioner Dwight Robanske ran unopposed for reelection. He will begin his fourth term next year.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in
4 free views left!