In the Minutes - Dayton School Board


Dayton School District board members are Marchand Hovrud, Steve Martin, Tamara Fritze, David Bailey and Joe Huether. With all present Wednesday, the board:

Donations: Approve PTSO donations totaling $1,900 for Walla Walla Young People’s Symphony, Palouse Science Discover Center exhibit, Fifth Avenue Theater and student prizes for AR. Also approved anonymous donation to elementary school of $500. Both unanimous.

Staffing: Approved Nicole Lockard as new middle school assistant volleyball coach, Jennifer Finney as new Elementary Secretary and Stephanie Wamble as new paraprofessional for fourth grade. Unanimous.

Administrative Report: Heard reports from principals on school improvement plans for faculties.

Superintendent Reports: Heard reports on professional development, early release, homeroom data dashboard and fourth grade schedule/support.

Policy Updates: Approved policies regarding student immunizations and life-threatening health conditions; medications at school; self-administration of asthma and anaphylaxis medications; and anaphylaxis prevention and response. Unanimous. Also, first reading was given of policy update on superintendent evaluation.

Operating Principles: Approved new operating principles document. Unanimous.

Grant Approval: Approved Highly Capable grant. Unanimous.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in