U-B candidate endorsements

Following are the Union-Bulletin Editorial Board recommendations to the full editorials are found below.


Local Offices

Walla Walla County

Commissioner, District 1

Jim Johnson, Republican

Walla Walla County

Commissioner, District 2

Perry Dozier, Republican

Federal Offices


Mitt Romney, Republican

U.S. Senate

Maria Cantwell, Democrat

U.S. House

Rich Cowan, Democrat

State Offices


Rob McKenna, Republican

Lt. Governor

Bill Finkbeiner, Republican

Attorney General

Reagan Dunn, Republican

Secretary of State

Kim Wyman, Republican


Jim McIntire, Democrat


James Watkins, Republican

Insurance Commissioner

Mike Kreidler, Democrat

Lands Commissioner

Peter Goldmark, Democrat

State Senate

Mike Hewitt, Republican

State House

Maureen Walsh, Republican

State Supreme Court

Sheryl Gordon McCloud, nonpartisan

State Measures

Initiative 1185

Supermajority vote to raise taxes


Initiative 1240

Charter Schools


Referendum 74

Approve Gay Marriage

Should be approved

Initiative 502

Legalize Marijuana


ESJR 8221

Reduce State Debt Limit


SJR 8223

Expand Investing By Colleges


Advisory Votes

Advisory Vote No. 1

(Engrossed Senate Bill 6635)

Concerns B&O tax deduction

Should be maintained

Advisory Vote No. 2

(Substitute House Bill 2590)

Concerns expiration of tax on petroleum products

Should be maintained

Members of the Union-Bulletin Editorial Board are Publisher Rob Blethen, Editor Rick Doyle, Editorial Page Editor Rick Eskil and Deirdre Bealey, human resources manager


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in