In the Minutes - Milton-Freewater School Board


Board members are Don Miller, Duane Geyer, Dennis Burks, Tim McElrath, Tara Lewis, Mike Lesko and Kelly Kessler. With all present Tuesday, the board:

STAFFING: Approved staffing recommendations for 2013-14 school year that will reduce seven para-professional positions, leave some retirement positions vacant and fill others with more entry-level employees. Unanimous.

CALENDAR: Adopted 2013-14 academic calendar. The first day of school will be Sept. 3, immediately after the Labor Day holiday, and high school graduation will take place May 31, 2014, a Saturday. Unanimous.

DONATIONS: Accepted donations of $500 from the Baker Boyer Bank Trust Division for library books; $1,000 from Rotary and $1,000 from Milton-Freewater Area Foundation for Shakespeare program in English classes; and tax-delinquent foreclosed land from Umatilla County for public use. Unanimous.

POLICIES: Approved eight board policies, which are available to view online at Unanimous.

RETIREMENT: Accepted resignations for purpose of retirement from Nita Kinney, Jan Piercy, Connie Schmeckpeper and Alean Thomas, effective at the end of the current school year. Unanimous.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in