Ciez tops All-City Championships leaderboard


WALLA WALLA — Veterans Memorial Golf Course on Sunday proved to be every bit as difficult a test — and then some — as the Walla Walla Country Club did Saturday



during the 64th playing of the Walla Walla All-City Championships golf tournament.

Mike Ciez emerged as the champion of the annual All-City affair even though his 1-

over-par 73 Sunday at Vets was a six-stroke slide from the 5-under-par 67 he posted Saturday at the country club in taking charge of the field.

Ciez took a three-shot lead into Sunday’s final round and never looked back as he won by five shots over Tyler Daniels and Cole Sajonia, who tied for second at 1-over-par 145 for 36 holes.

“The golf course showed its teeth,” said Mike Rostollan, Veterans Memorial’s interim pro. “And I think there were a couple of reasons why.

“We were playing from the tips and the course played a little longer than the country club did on Saturday, and that became an issue for some players. Also our greens played a little softer and slower than the country club greens, which were firmer and faster.

“The pin placements weren’t difficult. But some players were having difficulty adjusting to the slower surface because their putts and chip shots weren’t running out the way they expected.”

Jorge Martinez and Eric Kimball, who began the day three shots back in second place after recording identical 2-under-par 70s on Saturday, were unable to make a run at the leader. Martinez shot a 4-over-par 76 Sunday to finish alone in third place while Kimball posted a 6-over 78 and slid to fifth place at 148, one shot behind Barry Wofford’s fourth-place 73-74—147 scorecard.

Jeff Neher, who lost to Greg Prins in a sudden-death playoff in last year’s All-City, finished two strokes behind Kimball at 148, posting a 77 Sunday after a first-round 73 left him in distant contention six strokes behind Ciaz.

Daniels began the day at even-par 142 before touring Memorial in 1-over 73 Sunday for his 145 score. Sajonia shot even-par 72 Sunday after an opening-round 73 to share second place.

Chris Garrett was the championship flight net winner at 139, one shot better than Kimball’s 140 handicap score. Wofford and Shane Smith tied for third at 141.

Mike Clark claimed the men’s first division gross prize at 169, shooting an 81 Sunday that was a seven-stroke improvement over his opening-round 88 at the country club. Clark edged Mike Croft, who scored a pair of 86s to finish second at 172.

Ron Miller took low net in the men’s first flight at 132, five shots better than second-place Onie Bloomberg.

Bill Fleenor, a former All-City champion, was the senior flight gross winner with a 157 total after rounds of 77 at the country club and 80 at Memorial. He edged Peter McClure by two strokes.

Skip Molitor posted a 143 handicap score to win the seniors flight net title by one shot over Jerry Votendahl.

In the women’s division, Dona Dunovant was the runaway gross winner with rounds of 78 and 76 for a 154 total that was 11 shots better than Jan Johnson’s 88-87—165 final tally. Net honors went to Liz Mitchell, who at 142 finished five shots better than Judy Johnson.

“I thought the tournament as a whole was a great success,” Rostollan said. “I heard nothing but rave reviews.

“Don Bush, our tournament director, did an excellent job and has some ideas for the future, and we look forward to continuing to grow this tournament in years to come.”

All-City Championships

Sunday’s Results

At Veterans Memorial

Championship Flight


Mike Ciaz 67-73—140

Tyler Daniels 72-73—145

Cole Sajonia 73-72—145

Jorge Martinez 70-76—146

Barry Wofford 73-74—147

Eric Kimball 70-78 —148

Jeff Neher 73-77—150

Chris Garrett 74-81—155

Mason Palmer 78-77—155

Sean Taylor 78-77—155

Tannen Potter 79-78—157

Grant Geelan 80-78—158

Shane Smith 74-85—159

Justin James 77-83—160

Houston Rice 77-83—160

Ronnie Smith 76-84—160

Brad Young 80-82—162

Cody Piper 82-82—164

Zach Armijo 80-95—175

Dan Coffey 89-88—177

Bret Carlson 90-98—188

Matt Richfield 109-95—204


Chris Garrett 66-73—139

Eric Kimball 66-74—140

Barry Wofford 70-71—141

Shane Smith 65-76—141

Jorge Martinez 68-74—142

Justin James 68-75—143

Jeff Neher 70-74—144

Sean Taylor 75-74—149

Houston Rice 72-78—150

Men’s First Flight


Mike Clark 88-81—169

Mike Croft 86-86—172

Richard Backlund 85-89—174


Ron Miller 63-69—132

Onie Bloomberg 69-68—137

Bill Brownfield 76-67—143

John Hanson 73-75—148

Dave Boldman 74-74—148

Jay Babbitt 77-74—151

David Hampson 73-79—152

Brett McCane 81-84—155

Michael Simon 78-78—156

Pat Grimm 75-81—156

Men’s Senior Flight


Bill Fleenor 77-80—157


Skip Molitor 71-72—143

Jerry Votendahl 69-75—144

Bill Morris 71-74—145

Jim Beard 74-71—145

Pete McClure 72-73—145

Women’s Division


Dona Dunovant 78-76—154


Liz Mitchell 69-73—142

Judy Johnson 72-75—147

Kathy Mauer 73-76—149

Jan Johnson 77-76—153

Nancy Young 77-76—153


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in
4 free views left!