Four QBs, two RBs Heisman Trophy finalists


NEW YORK — Quarterbacks Jameis Winston of top-ranked Florida State, Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M, AJ McCarron of Alabama and Jordan Lynch of Northern Illinois, and running backs Tre Mason of Auburn and Andre Williams of Boston College were chosen as the finalists for the Heisman Trophy.

Six finalists invited to the ceremony in New York are the highest number since 1994.

The winner will be announced Saturday.

Winston is the overwhelming favorite to win the Heisman; a sexual-assault complaint against him in Tallahassee, Fla., resulted in no charges being filed.

Winston could become the second freshman to win the award; Manziel became the first in 2012.

Manziel is seeking to join another elite Heisman club by becoming the second player to win the award twice. Ohio State running back Archie Griffin won the Heisman in 1974 and ’75.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in