Eisenhardt on all-District 1st team


WALLA WALLA — Ben Eisenhardt, this year’s leading scorer and rebounder for the Whitman College men’s basketball team, has been selected to the National Association of Basketball Coaches All-West District first team, following up his naming to the D3 Hoops.com All-Region team a week ago.

The players are selected by member coaches of the NABC in NCAA Division III basketball.

The junior, in his first full-year as a starter, averaged 16.4 points per game, which ranked fourth in the Northwest Conference, along with having the NWC’s fourth best field-goal percentage at 54.9 percent. Eisenhardt also ranked seventh in NWC rebounding, hauling down six boards per contest.

He thus was named the NWC Player of the Year.

“To be selected all-District by the NABC is a significant accomplishment, especially as just a junior,” said Missionary coach Eric Bridgeland. “Ben had big games against some of the top competition in the region. This is no surprise. We are very proud of Ben.”

In his second season at Whitman — Eisenhardt transferred from Division I Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo after his first year of college ball — he helped guide the Missionaries to their third straight appearance in the NWC tournament, and their first 12-win conference record in program history. The Whits finished second, and hosted a NWC tourney game for the second time in the last three seasons.

During the 2012-13 campaign, Eisenhardt scored more than 20 points on nine different occasions, twice tallying career-highs of 29 points against Simpson College and NWC-foe George Fox.

In a pivotal conference victory over Lewis & Clark during the Missionaries’ late-season charge towards the postseason, Eisenhardt scored 21 of his game-high 25 in the second stanza as the Missionaries overcame a 19-point second-half deficit to win.

Eisenhardt is the second straight Whitman Missionary to follow the same path of accolades. Last season, Whitman’s David Michaels, who is now playing professionally overseas, received the same three postseason honors.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in