Etcetera - 3/27/13


Muddy Frogwater Festival organizers are looking for a new design for 2013, Milton-Freewater Area Chamber of Commerce Executive Director Cheryl York said in a release.

Those interested in promoting their work free of charge may submit a camera-ready design that uses no more than six colors.

The winning design will be featured through all festival publications and promotions, including festival T-shirts and other related items. Designs should be sent no later than April 15 to the Milton-Freewater Area Chamber of Commerce, 157 S. Columbia St.

For more details, contact Cheryl at 541-938-5563 or

The Walla Walla Branch American Association of University Women increased its educational scholarships from $1,500 to $1,800 due to the financial success of their annual book sale, said Jeanne Beirne in a release.

The deadline for application submissions is April 19.

Scholarships go to women who’ve finished at least one year of college, followed by an interruption in their education. Applicants must reside in Walla Walla, Columbia or Umatilla counties.

Applications may be completed online or printed from the website,

Transcripts, proof of financial need and a brief essay are also part of the application process.

Scholarship funds will be directed to the college of the recipient’s choice to be used as needed for educational expenses.

For more details, contact Debbie Dumont at 509-525-1088 or and Jeanne at 509-525-7401 or

A placemat colored by Sharpstein Elementary fourth-grader Maria Contreras-Soto won the 2012-13 Walla Walla Community College Rodeo Coloring Contest.

Maria is in Sharpstein’s dual language program taught by Luz Phillips and Terri Gilbert.

Flyers students colored are posted throughout the rodeo grounds and are used as placemats for the cowboy breakfast, according to an item in the Walla Walla Public Schools Week in Review online newsletter. Half of the rodeo’s proceeds help support the Walla Walla Child Abuse Prevention Council.

The new slate of 2013-2014 ASB officers at Walla Walla High School includes Kiana Molitor as president.

Serving alongside Kiana will be Samantha Oberg, vice president; Jaime Quaresma, secretary; and Blake Morasch, treasurer, according to the Walla Walla Public Schools Week in Review online newsletter.

Contact Annie Charnley Eveland at or 526-8313.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in