Two file Monday at start of special filing period


WALLA WALLA — Two candidates filed Monday at the start of a special filing period in Walla Walla County.

In other election news, a judicial appointment narrowed a state Court of Appeals race, and Columbia County has announced a special filing period to be held next month.

According to the Walla Walla County Auditor’s Office, candidates filing Monday were Eva Madrigal, who filed for re-election to the District 2 seat on the Prescott School Board and Kristine Shull, who filed for the Prescott Joint Parks and Recreation District Commissioner 5 seat.

The positions were among 11 posts left open when the regular filing week closed Friday. The special filing period will run through 4 p.m. Wednesday.

Posts remaining open are three seats on the Prescott City Council, one seat on the Prescott Joint Parks and Recreation board and five seats on the Waitsburg Parks and Recreation board.

In the race for the Court of Appeals, Division III, District 2 seat, candidate Terry Bloor has withdrawn following the appointment of Richland attorney George Fearing to the bench.

Fearing was appointed by Gov. Jay Inslee to replace retiring Judge Dennis Sweeney. The appointment will become effective June 24.

Fearing and Bloor had filed last week to run for the position. According to the Tri-City Herald today, both had also applied for appointment to the judgeship and had agreed that if one or the other was chosen, the unsuccessful applicant would step aside and support the successful candidate.

To keep the office, Fearing will still have to run for election against Kennewick attorney Gary Metro, who also filed for the position last week. Since only two candidates are now running, there will be no primary race and they will proceed to the November general election.

In Columbia County, Auditor Sharon Richter announced today that her office will hold a special filing period from June 3 through June 5 for positions still with no candidates at the close of last week’s regular filing period.

The offices still open are Positions 5 and Position 6 on the Dayton City Council and the Director 5 seat on the Dayton School Board. There are also two positions open on the Columbia County Fire District board.

Andy Porter can be reached at or 526-8318.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in