Offices still without candidates after special filing period


WALLA WALLA — A special filing period for Walla Walla County offices open for election this year closed Wednesday with some spots still without candidates.

According to the county Auditor’s Office, no one filed for the Position 2 seat on the Prescott City Council or for the Commissioner 1 position on the Prescott Joint Parks and Recreation District.

There were also no filings for the five seats up for election on the Waitsburg Parks and Recreation District.

In addition, there were no filings for open seats in two fire districts, two water districts and the Walla Walla Cemetery District.

Dave Valiant, county elections supervisor, said people currently holding seats up for election will continue serving until their terms expire. At that time, according to state law, the board or commission they are serving appoints a successor.

Columbia County has scheduled a special filing period for June 3-5 for positions that have no candidates.

Seats still include Positions 5 and 6 on the Dayton City Council and the Director 5 seat on the Dayton School Board.

In Walla Walla County, only one race will be on the ballot for the Aug. 6 primary election. That will be for the Walla Walla School Board Director 1 seat which has three candidates: Sam Wells, Joshua Gonzales and Brent Barberich.

“Everyone else just waits until the general election,” Valiant said.

A complete list of candidates who have filed in Walla Walla, Columbia and Garfield counties is available online at

Andy Porter can be reached at or 526-8318.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in