Local election results tallied


With the first round of vote-counting complete in the region, here is a look at where local races stand:

Walla Walla County

For City Council Position 1, incumbent Jim Barrow holds a 1,478 to 1,334 vote lead over challenger Paul Mobley. With 7,108 votes counted and at least 1,439 left to tally, Mobley remains within striking distance, unlike the candidates trailing in two other Council races.

Incumbent Conrado Cavazos Jr. garnered just 607 votes to challenger Allen Pomraning's 2,221, meaning that if all of the remaining votes went to Cavazos, he would still come up short.

In the third contested race in the city, Richard "Dick" Morgan leads Robert "Rob" Smith 1,727 to 974, most likely meaning Morgan will fill the seat vacated by Council member Shane Laib.

In College Place, Mayor Rick Newby opened a landslide-level lead over challenger Lonnie Croft and leads 596-286. In the contested City Council race, Julie Scott leads Wesley Bernal 641-142.

Dixie School Board races see Gene Wilks leading Dana Gutierrez 68-26 and Allan Thonney ahead of Richard Berrier, 56-34.

Walla Walla School Board candidate Sam Wells was in principle pitted against Joshua Gonzalez, but Gonzalez dropped out of the race too late to be left off the ballot. Wells leads that race 2,986 to 741.

A Court of Appeals race's local voting echoed regional voting, with George Fearing winning in a landslide over John Gary Metro.

Garfield County

In Pomeroy City Council races, Dennis Gillis leads Lee Bingman, 301-228 and Erin Darby leads Joel Reyerson 411-83.

Incumbent Paul Ruark appears to be headed for defeat at the hands of challenger Ed Fruh, who leads 492-352.

Also in Garfield County, a levy lid lift for the public hospital district was failing.

Across the state line, a pair of public safety levies in Umatilla County were rejected by voters.

For more results, check out our roundup here.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in