Devils earn All-MCC honors


WALLA WALLA — Walla Walla High School’s football team placed three players on All-Mid-Columbia Conference first teams following the Blue Devils’ 6-4 season.

Wa-Hi senior Darnell Handcox earned first team at wide receiver and defensive back, senior Nate Summerlin was selected on both offensive and defensive lines, and senior Stuart Gillin at linebacker.

Second-team selections went to senior linebacker Forrest Swant, senior offensive lineman Nick Fuller, and junior tight end Gerardo Gomez.

Honorable mention honors were earned by Blue Devil junior Trever Coronado at defensive back, junior Willie Hayes at linebacker, and junior Mitch Huffman at wide receiver.

Conference MVP went to Chiawana’s Deion Singleton, offensive lineman of the year went to Chiawana’s Chandler Newell, offensive player of the year to Kamiakin’s Kylle Robertson, defensive player of the year to Chiawana’s Alex Weber, and coach of the year to the Riverhawks’ Steve Graff.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in