Wa-Hi boys to take floor for fundraising volleyball game - Etcetera - 10/4/13


Junior and senior Walla Walla High School boys will get their “buff puff” on for the annual volleyball game and a good cause at 7 p.m. Monday in the large gym, 800 Abbott Road.

Wa-Hi Choir members sponsor this homecoming event to raise funds for their trip to sing in Portland at The Grotto in December, said Norb Rossi, director of choirs.

Wondering why the buff puff reference? Its name is on par with the annual “powder puff” football game for girls, Norb said.

General admission is $3 and children under age 6 are admitted free.

Veterans of Foreign Wars Grant Farmer Post 992 and Ladies Auxiliary members attended the District 10 VFW Post and Auxiliary meeting in mid-September at the Clarkston Post Home, reported Linda McBride.

A VFW Department of Washington representative presented the 2012-2013 Lifetime Achievement Award to Walla Wallan Wilma McBain.

A 22-year Post 992 auxiliary member, Wilma has served five terms as its president; two terms as District 10 president; one year on the Youth Activities; nine years as Hospital chairwoman; seven years as Community Service chairwoman; for the last five years with the Veterans Affairs Voluntary Services; and three years as an alternate officer with the Department of Washington.

Several area 4-H members garnered awards at the Washington State 4-H Fair, held during the 113-year-old Washington State Fair Sept. 6-22 in Puyallup. Every competitor showcased unique skills and the competition was fierce, according to the release.

Local winners are: Darnell Larish, Walla Walla, champion individual-rabbit judging, senior; Micah Wik, Walla Walla, Award of Merit-Woodworking, science and environmental category; Alexis Sharpe, Burbank, Award of Merit-People, and Alicia Newcomb, Walla Walla, Award of Merit-Animals, both in photography; Seamus House, Waitsburg, Award of Merit, public presentation; Alexis Sharpe, two Awards of Merit-Arts and Marissa McBride, Walla Walla, Award of Merit-Arts, expressive arts; ; and Marissa McBride, Kelly Michelson, Arianne Wylie, all of Walla Walla, fashion revue Awards of Merit.

Contact Annie Charnley Eveland at annieeveland@wwub.com or 526-8313.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in