Walla Walla County commissioner will not run for re-election


WALLA WALLA — Walla Walla County Commissioner Greg Tompkins announced today he will not seek re-election to a fourth term.

Tompkins made his announcement at the start of today’s regular commission meeting. He said he intends to serve out the remainder of his term, which expires at the end of this year.

Tompkins was elected to the District 3 seat in 2002, replacing Commissioner Chuck Maiden who retired. District 3 covers much of western Walla Walla County and the city of College Place.

In his announcement, Tompkins said he wanted “to thank everyone for the honor and trust you have placed in me. It has been an honor and privilege to have worked with and for you.”

He said he was proud of what he and his fellow commissioners have accomplished in the 11-plus years he has served on the board. “I have been blessed to work with dedicated elected officials especially, but not limited to, (former commissioners) Dave Carey, Pam Ray, Gregg Loney and my fellow seatmates.”

Former county Coroner Stephen Ames announced last week he intends to run for the District 3 seat. The official filing week for candidates will be May 12-16.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment

Click here to sign in